Cascade and Porter Mountains

Cascade summit.

Trailhead: Route 73 in Keene, NY
Date of climb: April 7, 2012
#36: Cascade, 4098 ft.
#38:  Porter, 4059 ft.

These are supposedly the two easiest high peaks of the illustrious 46 to climb, and therefore I deemed a good place to start.  The biggest challenge I faced was encountering more snow and ice than expected, considering the mild winter upstate NY has seen this year; microspikes would have definitely come in handy, particularly on the trail between Cascade and Porter. It was doable, though, and so nice to see the mountains at the tail end of winter. See below for the mystery animal tracks discovered just past the summit of Porter.  If I hear back from the Adirondack Nature Conservancy I’ll update.

4/16 – From Alissa at the ANC: “the relative size and pattern makes me think snowshoe hare. The hare’s hind feet are big, much bigger than the front feet. The two small impressions at the top are the front feet landing, and the two large impressions side by side below that are the hind feet swinging in front of the front feet and then landing. They then push off their hind feet to propel them to their next landing. That’s a typical hare pattern. The other reason I feel comfortable saying snowshoe hare is because Cascade and Porter is good habitat for them and I’ve seen many hare tracks in that area.”

View from scenic overlook on Cascade Mountain.

Almost there…

From the summit of Cascade.

Snow-covered trail, on route to Porter from Cascade.

Approaching Porter scenic overlook, a little ways before reaching the peak.

View from Porter overlook.

Porter Mountain summit. A little less impressive after Cascade.

Snowshoe hare tracks just beyond the Porter summit.

On descent from Porter.

14 thoughts on “Cascade and Porter Mountains

  1. I’m so happy to see you writing again!! I’ve been thinking a lot about you lately, but my semester is kicking my @$$!! Luckily, it ends in three weeks. I’ll be in touch then. Miss you – really, I have. Fantastic photos! Makes me miss the Adirondacks.

Leave a Reply

