NH: Mt. Tecumseh

On the way up Tecumseh

On the climb up Tecumseh

Mt. Tecumseh was a great warm-up climb in preparation for a few White Mountain hikes this fall. I didn’t make it up to New Hampshire until almost one in the afternoon so I opted for the shortest trail, which departed from the Waterville Valley ski area. There are pretty gentle grades the whole way up the mountain and nothing particularly notable about this hike. I enjoyed the views from the viewing area not quite midway to the top. Until that point, the trail had been meandering and switchbacking as it slowly wound up the mountain, but after the views it’s a straight shot to the summit and a mostly steady ascent. For any Adirondack hikers reading this, I would definitely rank this as easier than Cascade; perhaps on par with Tabletop. Gorgeous day to be out, and I shared the trail and views with quite a few hikers and dogs.

r/t mileage: 5.0
elevation gain: 2200′
Another view from the viewing area

Another view from the viewing area

The last couple of tenths of a mile, at least, before the summit are a lovely stroll in the woods

The last couple of tenths of a mile, at least, before the summit are a lovely stroll in the woods

Modest summit views. Unfortunately my camera broke on the way up, so photos were limited to my iPhone.

Modest summit views. Unfortunately my camera broke on the way up, so photos were limited to my iPhone.

4 thoughts on “NH: Mt. Tecumseh

  1. Thanks for the memories of places long ago hiked! We hope to get to Washington and the alpine wildflower garden this spring when all is in bloom. Have never been able to make that very narrow weather window for the climb conditions and bloom to coincide. j.

    • Thanks for the comment, John! Let me know when you’re headed over to the Whites in the spring – maybe I’ll meet you there, as I am hoping to tackle some of the Presidential Range myself.

  2. It sounds like you had a wonderful day hiking and exploring a new mountain. You are so lucky to live so close to such a beautiful area – I am envious! I’m so sorry to hear that your camera broke. What happened?

    • Actually… it broke on a previous hike, but I had forgotten until it was too late! The lens cover gets stuck and then the camera just keeps shutting down. I won’t make that mistake again!

Leave a Reply

